web analytics

Blog

Book Club: Our Next Book Is….

Book Club: Our Next Book Is….

I hope you have enjoyed our book club so far! Since we are heading into the holiday (I can’t believe it’s Thanksgiving this week!), I thought we should read a sweet Christmas book by a fellow blogger Jenny Hale. This is her third book and it looks amazing! So our book is…..

A Christmas to Remember by Jenny Hale

23212956 Book Club: Our Next Book Is....

Here is a blurb about what Barnes & Noble said about A Christmas to Remember:

A beautiful story about the magic of childhood Christmas memories, the strength of family and falling in love when you least expect it.

Fans of Carole Matthews, Susan Wiggs and Scarlett Bailey – and anyone who loves the sound of Christmas songs and the sparkle of decorations on the tree – will adore this festive holiday treat!

Everyone loves Christmas – don’t they?

Carrie Blake loves her job as a nanny but, while her friends are settling down, all of Carrie’s spare time is spent with other people’s families. Though it breaks her heart, her New Year’s resolution is to embark on a new career and fix her love life.

As Carrie starts her last job, she’s sure she’ll be going out on a high – the house is amazing, the kids are adorable, and she’s in charge of decorating the tree!

The only problem could be her boss… single-dad, Adam Fletcher might be both handsome and successful, but he’s always working. Doesn’t he realise he’s missing out on precious moments with his son and daughter?

As Adam’s family arrive for Christmas including his sensitive sister, Sharon, and his fun-loving, elderly Grandpa, Walter, Carrie realises that she might just have found the perfect allies in her quest to persuade Adam to loosen up. There’s still time for Carrie to make this the best Christmas ever… after all, Christmas is the time for miracles, isn’t it? Let the festivities begin!

woman reading book Book Club: Our Next Book Is....

 

It sounds like a super cute movie you would see on Lifetime or Hallmark! I am really excited about reading it!

We will have our Q & A about the first part of the book on Monday, December 8. Read to about half way through, to about page 150. I don’t have my copy yet so I do not know how many chapters there are. After Thanksgiving I will post the exact chapter you need to read to. 

Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy this month’s book!

What are your Thanksgiving Day plans?

xoxox, Kelli, Bodeoo

Book Chat: Bodeoo’s Live Book Chat is Today!

Book Chat: Bodeoo’s Live Book Chat is Today!

7 lauren conrad beauty Book Chat: Bodeoos Live Book Chat is Today!

Today is the day!! Our first live book chat. In case you were wondering, we will be talking about Lauren Conrad’s Beauty, a book all about helping you find your beauty style and then playing around with your look until you get it just right, or updating the look you already love.

You can still participate in the discussion from Part 1 or wait until 3 p.m. CST today and join in. You should be able to join our chat room by clicking on the chat room icon below. Then we will chat away.

To get our discussion going, let’s start with one question:

FIRST QUESTION: What was the most surprising tip or piece of information that you found useful and want to (or have already) tried?

I look forward to talking with you all.  See you at 3 p.m. CST.

You can still have to time to read Beauty, you can click here to buy your own copy.

Makeovers with Sephora

Makeovers with Sephora

20141015 154019 e1416426403690 576x1024 Makeovers with Sephora

A few weeks ago, we wrote about the FREE makeovers that Sephora offers, and my co-worker, Stephanie, and I took a trip down to Sephora to receive our free makeovers. You have several options to choose from: a free 15 minute mini makeover that focuses on one area (eyes, lips, eye brows, ext), a 45 minute makeover with any $50 purchase, or a 90 minute makeover plus shopping session with any purchase of $125 or more. Stephanie and I chose the free 15 minute makeover. Her focus area was her lips, and mine was the everyday eye.

20141015 154234 e1416426449493 576x1024 Makeovers with Sephora

We had a Sephora beauty stylist take us around the store picking out the items we wanted to use. We were asked if there were any items we wanted to try, and I also had her pick out a few items for me as well. Since I was having my eyes done, I picked a blush eye cream, liquid eye liner, and my beauty stylist also picked out an eye primer, mascara, and eye shadows to compliment the eye cream.

20141015 1549211 1024x576 Makeovers with Sephora 20141015 160159 1024x576 Makeovers with Sephora

We then went to sit at the counters in the middle of the store, and she showed me how to make a bold every day eye. First apply eye primer, to keep your make up on all and night long. This is a tip I had forgotten about, and one of the the items I want to buy the most. You are going to have four colors: a matte base color, a white shimmery eye shadow, a dark shimmery color, and then your eye cream. Apply the base eye shadow, a more matte color, to the crease of your eyes. Then on the upper lid apply the white shimmery eye shadow. Add your eye cream on the eye lid, and the dark cream in the corner of the eyes. Blend it all together. Apply your eye liner, making sure it stays close to the eye lid as possible, and then your mascara. This creates your everyday bold eye.

20141015 162840 e1416426554948 898x1024 Makeovers with Sephora

What I loved about my makeover at Sephora besides the fact that it was free, was that it was very teacher friendly. My beauty stylist took me around explaining what color eye creams and shadows would look good on me, what products are best (like liquid vs. gel vs. kohl eye liner), and let me choose which products I wanted to try. When she was transforming my eyes, she explained as she went, and even let me try putting on some of the makeup myself. This is a great service if you want a few pointers, or just want to try something new. I definitely learned new things and will go back for more free mini makeovers. You can only have one free mini makeover at a time, so if you are looking to transform your look completely in one session, I would suggest buying some of the products you really like so you can receive a 45 or 90 minute session.

20141015 155822 1024x576 Makeovers with Sephora 20141015 162633 e1416427278720 996x1024 Makeovers with Sephora

Have you tried any of the makeovers at Sephora? Do you want to? What was your experience like?

xoxo, Kelli, Bodeoo

Set the Date: RSVP to Our Live Book Chat

7 lauren conrad beauty Set the Date: RSVP to Our Live Book Chat

I hope you have enjoyed reading Lauren Conrad’s Beauty as much as I have!! The tips she gives are amazing and exciting! I can’t wait to finish the rest of the book! Thank you to those who participated in the Q & A for the first half of Beauty. If you haven’t, you can still leave comments any time. Keep reading the rest of the book because we will be having an online live book chat on Monday, November 24 at 3:00 p.m. CST.

How will it work?

I will post a reminder here on the blog as well as on our Facebook page. There you can leave any questions, comments, ideas, ect. about the book before hand. Anything you want me to talk about. At 3, I will log on, and we will have a live chat for 30 minutes. The chatroom will be embedded into the blog post from earlier that day. Come ready to talk! If you are planning on joining our live book chat, leave a comment below!

I am looking forward to it! 

xoxoxo, Kelli, Bodeoo

Book Club – Lauren Conrad’s Beauty Q & A (part 2)

Book Club – Lauren Conrad’s Beauty Q & A (part 2)

7 lauren conrad beauty Book Club   Lauren Conrads Beauty Q & A (part 2) Book Club   Lauren Conrads Beauty Q & A (part 2)

We have been reading Lauren Conrad’s book Beauty here at Bodeoo, and am loving every minute about it! It is so full of information and ideas that I’ve already had to start peaking ahead to Part 2 because I was so excited! I’m sorry we are well over due for our Q & A about Part 1: Prep. We have had some unexpected events, but now ready to get back in the game with our book club. Here’s how this works. I will post the questions you are to answer below as well as my answers to the questions. Respond back with your own answers in the comment section below. 

If you haven’t read Part 1 of Beauty by Lauren Conrad, that’s ok. You can still pick up your own copy, participate in the discussion below and be ready for our live book chat. The date of the live book chat will be announced next week. 

20141001 154844 1024x576 Book Club   Lauren Conrads Beauty Q & A (part 2)

Questions:

1. What has been your favorite part about learning about your beauty style?
2. What new thing have you discovered about yourself by complimenting yourself everyday?
3. Who are your favorite celebrity inspirations?
4. What has been your favorite tip(s) you have learned so far?
5. What tip(s) do you want to try out?
6. Have you tried a hair mask before?
7. Is your face and hair type what you thought? or different? Do you mind sharing?
8. Were you surprised by the amount of harmful ingredients and their side effects that are in shampoos, conditioners, lotions, ect?
9. What do you do for “me time?” What refreshes you?
10. Do you already workout? If so, what helps you keep working out on a regular basis?
11. Do you find it easy to incorporate healthy foods into your diet?

My answers: 

1. What has been your favorite part about learning about your beauty style? It is so not what I thought. I thought my style was a more natural look, but I am really loving a more bold/dramatic eye look these days. 
2. What new thing have you discovered about yourself by complimenting yourself everyday? I see myself as beautiful, where I didn’t always see that. 
3. Who are your favorite celebrity inspirations? Sara Jessica Parker, Kate Hudson, Jennifer Anniston, Lauren Conrad, Reese Witherspoon, and Mila Kunis are a few of my favorites. 
4. What has been your favorite tip(s) you have learned so far? Right now, what has hit home for me has been making sure I get enough sleep, and staying hydrated. 
5. What tip(s) do you want to try out? Incorporating more good foods so I don’t have to rely so much on vitamins. I want to get my nutrients as naturally as possible. 
6. Have you tried a hair mask before? No, not yet. I have found a few DIY masks on Pinterest that I want to try soon. 
7. Is your face and hair type what you thought? or different? Do you mind sharing? My face and hair type are what I thought. I have an oval face with fine, thick, wavy/straight hair (sometimes super curly if it rains).
8. Were you surprised by the amount of harmful ingredients and their side effects that are in shampoos, conditioners, lotions, ect? Yes I was completely surprised! And am changing what products I use. I am working on a post about what shampoos and conditioners are actually good for you (ones you can find at the drug store)
9. What do you do for “me time?” What refreshes you? For me time, I love to watch movies and read books. Dancing, baking/cooking, time with God, working out, and spending time with my loved ones refreshes me
10. Do you already workout? If so, what helps you keep working out on a regular basis? I do workout, and love it. Dancing helps motivate me and keeps me in shape. 
11. Do you find it easy to incorporate healthy foods into your diet? I have been working on adding more healthy foods to my diet, and found I function a lot better when I do. Pinterest and my cookbooks have helped with that a lot when cooking at home.

pfr 00799255085 Book Club   Lauren Conrads Beauty Q & A (part 2)

I look forward to reading your answers!

xoxoxo, Kelli, Bodeoo.com

ChatClick here to chat!+